Bookshelf: August 2011

September 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

Purchased

Salt: A World History, Mark Kurlansky

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman, Haruki Murakami

God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater, Kurt Vonnegut (birthday gift from my sister!)

Started

Salt: A World History, Mark Kurlansky

Finished

Bonk, Mary Roach

Chapter Two:

Dating the Penis-Camera: Can a Woman Find Happiness with a Machine?

The Picture of Dorian Grey, Oscar Wilde

Memorable line:

The tragedy of old age is not that one is old, but that one is young.

I Heard the Owl Call My Name, Margaret Craven

On comparing religions:

“Yet they began in the same way, as we began.”

“With the myths, Caleb?”

“Yes.”

Changing My Mind: Occasional Essays, Zadie Smith

I have two pages in my journal full of quotes from this book. I think Smith may be my favorite contemporary thinker. I kind of have an intellectual girl crush on her. Here’s just one quote I wrote down:

Acts of love, because they are unattached to the world of commodities, are radical propositions.

Periodicals

The Inlander, weekly

VegNews, October 2011 (Food Issue)

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bookshelf: August 2011 at Daily Archives.

meta

