Apple-kraut ‘dillas

February 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

Apple and sauerkraut quesadillas – don’t think about it too much, just trust me on this one because these are so good! Until this week I had no desire to eat anything with sauerkraut, but somehow I got it into my head that I needed to eat some soon. I’m glad I listened to myself! Cabbage already has a nice umami thing going for it, but sauerkraut brings another dimension of flavor with it. The trusted combo of apple and sauerkraut creates a slightly sweet and complex flavor with just enough crunch to keep things interesting. I imagine these would be even better in the fall with some homemade kraut and fresh local apples, something to keep in mind. I used a nondescript yellow apple, probably a golden delicious, but I think a nice tart apple would be excellent here.

Serves 2

You’ll need:

1/2 apple, peeled and sliced thin

1/3 C sauerkraut

2 tortillas, taco size

2/3 C cheddar-style Daiya cheese, divided

Method:

Saute apple and sauerkraut in a small non-stick pan for about 5 minutes, or until apple softens. Place one tortilla in a large heated skillet, sprinkle half of Daiya evenly over tortilla. Spread half of the apple-kraut mixture over one half of the tortilla. Once cheese has started to melt, fold tortilla over on itself. Cover skillet with lid and cook for one minute, or until underside is slightly browned. Flip tortilla and repeat last step. Repeat process with second tortilla. Let the quesadillas sit for a couple of minutes and then slice into wedges.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Apple-kraut ‘dillas at Daily Archives.

meta

