Bialys

December 12, 2010 § 2 Comments

Bialys are similar to a bagel, expect they are not boiled before being baked and instead of having a hole in the center, they have a little bowl that you can fill with any yummyness you can imagine. According to Wikipedia, Bialys originated in Poland and are little known outside of New York City. But you should take some time to get to know them because they are like a delicious mix between a bagel and a jelly donut. Yum!

I made these last night using a recipe from The Kitchn, but of course I altered things a little. First, I couldn’t find any bread flour at the Co-op, but it’s possible I just didn’t see it because I was distracted by the cute guy working there. Anyway, I used regular flour which resulted in a more bread like consistency instead of the chewiness associated with a bagel. I also used my bread machine to mix the dough because I don’t have a standing mixer and didn’t feel like kneading dough at 11:30 last night. The recipe calls for milk or butter to wash over the bialys before baking, so I used a little melted Earth Balance. I chose to fill my bialys with a tofu custard, recipe follows.

These take a little bit of planning, but are well worth the effort. I plan to make these for Christmas morning, so I’ll have to find some bread flour when I’m not so distracted.

Tofu Custard

You’ll need:

1/2 package of silken tofu

1 T nutritional yeast

1 t turmeric

1/2 t black salt

sprinkle of paprika

Method:

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until well mixed.

§ 2 Responses to Bialys

  • Melissa says:

    Omg I love bialys. I used to go to this bagel place in Bellingham that has super yummy ones! It was the first time I had ever heard of them. 🙂 the one you made looks really good too!

  • spovegan says:

    Thanks, Melissa. I’ll have to check for bialys the next time I’m in the Seattle area. I’d love to try a real one for comparison.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bialys at Daily Archives.

meta

